Wasteful

"Wasteful" by Rickey F.

“Wasteful” by Rickey F.

The reason I chose the word wasteful is because it best describes the way I felt at the time I was incarcerated. While I was locked up my mind was constantly focused on how I was wasting time, “learning my lesson” day after day—for eight months straight. I hated calling home just to hear the stress people were going through over me. I couldn’t do anything to ease their stress or help lighten their load. It burned me up inside. Like most 17 year olds, before I was arrested I had a lot of stuff going on. I went to school and hung out with my friends. Inside of the jail, it was a challenge just to pass time. This is the time of your life when you start to figure yourself out and become who you’re going to be. You choose your career and go to college. But I was spending time in jail. I still think of all the precious time I wasted that I can never get back.

-Rickey F.

Leave a Reply

